Veggie Delight

While Ryan and Chase napped I thought of dinner ideas. ( and watched Oprah haha) Her show was about prolonging your life and what you can do to be your best. She had a 85 yr old man who lived a healthy lifestyle, ate healthy food and stayed active, and felt like he was in his 40’s! I am so amazed by people like him. He also is one of the richest men in the world.

Bailey and I went in to the kitchen while the boys napped and I started on dinner.

And, had a glass of vino. =)

blue cam 016

Bailey sat in her Bumbo seat and munched on some frozen strawberry’s.

blue cam 007

She is the best assistant chef ever.

I knew I wanted to make some sweet potatoes for dinner. I cut up 2 big sweet potatoes and tossed them in EVOO and a pinch of salt and pepper, baked them in the oven at 400* for 30 min. I still had 2 chicken breasts from yesterday leftover and was going to have 1/2 of one. Until that is, I saw the big bowl of veggies. I had a bunch of broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, carrots, and red pepper staring at me. I thought for a minute about dumping them then a light went off. How about vegetable soup? I put all the veggies in my food processor with a little bit of low sodium chicken stalk and blended away. Once it was all blended I poured it in to a pot and brought it up to a boil. Added a little bit of Mrs. Dash table blend and tada! It was magic.

All the vegetable soup business got me way off track from what was suppose to be dinner. I know the boys don’t like sweet potatoes (weird huh?) and there was no way they would try the veggie soup. I’m really trying to get them to try new things, it’s just hard. Ryan said he just wanted chicken and Chase didn’t say much, I think he was still sleepy. In a last minute effort I heated up some chicken for the boys, tossed some sweet potatoes in a bowl of soup and we sat down for dinner.

Here’s my bowl.

blue cam 013

No protein in this meal but it was plenty filling. So much so I couldn’t finish it.

What’s left over.

blue cam 015

 

Tonight would be perfect for some dark chocolate. Too bad I don’t have any, maybe it’s a good thing. Cori is off from the beach again tomorrow. That means a run is in the plans. Hopefully the weather is better than today.

See you for breakfast,

ashley

Leave a Reply

