Graduation day!

Today is Cori’s graduation from the Fire Academy. I’m so excited. It’s also going to be a bit of a date night for us. My mom is watching the kids for us. (thank you!!! ) I was going to go for a run this morning but decided to let Cori sleep in for a change. She greatly appreciated it. I had the kids help me make Baked Blueberry French Toast and bacon.

French Toast:

  • 3 whole eggs
  • 3 tbls brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup light vanilla soy milk

I had 8 slices of texas toast in the freezer that I thawed out and cut into cubes. I put bread into a baking dish and poured the custard mixture over. Tossed lightly with a spoon and sprinkled a bunch (didn’t measure, it was about 1/2 a package) of blueberry’s on top. To top it off I added some cinnamon and sugar over the top.

In the oven at 400* for 25 min.

blue cam 003

Bailey assisted me and munched on some watermelon in her feeder.

blue cam 004

The boys made Cori some cards and helped me make her some flowers with tissue paper and pipe cleaners. Cori came out of the room and I rushed her back in. I told her they wanted to surprise her. =) After I got everything out on the table, I sent them to go “wake” her up. haha

Graduation breakfast spread.

blue cam 005

Cori was very happy and the boys told her all about their morning. I skipped the bacon but had a good serving of the french toast. I think it could have been better with more of the custard mixture or soaked over night. It was a little dry, nothing a little no cal butter spray and light syrup couldn’t fix though. It was still delicious. The kids and Cori all had seconds. Bailey was content with her watermelon.

The plan for today is as follows: family haircuts, target (for conditioner, toliet paper and a bra), lunch, and Transformers 2. Not sure if it’ll stay in that order. I have to find out movie times. Lunch will mostly likely be at Jason’s  Deli. My fav!

See you for lunch (or sometime shortly after),

ashley

Leave a Reply

